← All Vaccine SummariesPAVS hub →

Open Source Medicine Foundation

Post-Acute Syndromes Dashboard

Reported chronic illnesses after vaccination, compared by evidence type: what case series report, what large registries found, and what regulators and expert committees concluded

Database counts and case-series frequencies are unverified reports, not proven injury rates. Not medical advice.

Last compiled 2026-09-21 · 5 syndrome groups · 34 cited records · draft for expert review · Data: pavs.bundle.json (generated from data/pavs/*.json by build_pavs_dashboard.py)

Terms

PAVS — Post-acute vaccination syndromes
Umbrella label used on this dashboard for chronic, multi-system illnesses that patients or clinicians report beginning after vaccination. It is not a diagnosis recognised by regulators.
PACVS / PVS — Post-acute COVID-19 vaccination syndrome / post-vaccination syndrome
Terms used by researchers for chronic fatigue and dysautonomia-type symptoms reported after COVID-19 vaccination. Semmler et al. 2023 define PACVS operationally as three or more symptoms lasting at least five months after the last mRNA vaccination, not attributable to SARS-CoV-2 infection or confounding disease. Krumholz et al. 2023 use 'post-vaccination syndrome' for a self-reported online cohort. [Semmler et al. 2023, Krumholz et al. 2023]
GWI / CMI — Gulf War Illness / chronic multisymptom illness
A chronic multisymptom illness reported by veterans of the 1990–91 Gulf War. Its causes are debated; vaccines, including anthrax vaccine, are one of several proposed exposures. [Hotopf et al. 2000, James et al. 2024]
ASIA — Autoimmune/inflammatory syndrome induced by adjuvants
A proposed umbrella syndrome (2011) grouping immune-mediated conditions attributed to adjuvants such as aluminium salts. Its diagnostic criteria have been criticised as too broad to exclude alternative explanations. [Cohen Tervaert et al. 2023, Hawkes et al. 2015]
MMF — Macrophagic myofasciitis
A histological finding of aluminium-containing macrophage infiltrates at a prior injection site, proposed by some authors as a marker of adjuvant persistence. [Gherardi et al. 2019]

Comparison across vaccines

Reported case-series findings and large-registry findings are shown in separate columns. Neither column alone settles causation. Every figure is cited in the study list for that vaccine.
VaccineNamed syndromeKey symptom clustersEstimated onset windowReported in case series / spontaneous reportsLarge registry / population studiesRegulator / committee positionKey studies
COVID-19 (mRNA)Post-acute COVID-19 vaccination syndrome (PACVS) / post-vaccination syndrome (PVS)Exercise intolerance; Excessive fatigue; Numbness / neuropathy; Brain fog / cognitive; Dysautonomia / POTS-typeMedian 3 days (IQR 1–8) from index vaccination to symptom onset in the Yale LISTEN self-reported cohort (n=241). Onset is self-reported and the cohort is self-selected; other cohorts are not compiled. [Krumholz et al. 2023]Self-selected online cohort (Yale LISTEN, n=241, 80% female) reports high symptom burden, led by exercise intolerance, fatigue, numbness, brain fog and neuropathy. A German cohort (191 affected vs 89 vaccinated controls) reports altered receptor-autoantibody and IL-6 markers.A sequence-symmetry analysis (284,592 vaccinated persons) found higher odds of a POTS diagnosis in the 90 days after vaccination than the 90 days before, but about five times higher odds after SARS-CoV-2 infection. A meta-analysis pooled a POTS rate of 3.94 per 10,000 vaccinated (CI 0–16.39; 2 studies) versus 107.75 per 10,000 after infection (5 studies). No large SCCS or registry study of a PACVS-defined syndrome was compiled.No regulator or expert-committee assessment of PACVS as a defined syndrome was located during this compile. A Sept 2026 web search for an EMA PRAC assessment of POTS after mRNA vaccines returned only myocarditis/pericarditis assessments. This describes our search, not a regulator conclusion; verify before citing.
HPVPost-HPV vaccination disorder (Japan) / suspected autonomic dysfunction after HPV vaccinationFatigue; Headache; Widespread pain / CRPS-like; Orthostatic intolerance / dysautonomia; Cognitive dysfunction; Sleep and menstrual disturbanceMedian 199 days (range 0–1,532) from first dose in the 87-patient Japanese series; mean 319.7 days (range 1–1,532) in the earlier 72-patient series. [Hineno & Ikeda 2021, Ozawa et al. 2017]Clinic-based series from Japan and Denmark describe a similar cluster of fatigue, headache, pain, orthostatic intolerance and cognitive symptoms in adolescent girls and young women. Authors of the Japanese series state that a causal link has not been demonstrated and note that symptom onset overlapped with a defined vaccination period and media activity.Danish (SCCS, 1.38 million females) and Norwegian (176,453 girls) registry studies found no increased rate of CFS, CRPS or POTS after HPV vaccination. Authors of the Danish SCCS note that an increase of up to 32% cannot be formally excluded.EMA PRAC (Nov 2015): evidence does not support a causal link between HPV vaccines and CRPS or POTS. WHO GACVS (2015, 2017): no evidence of a causal association with CRPS, POTS or diverse symptoms including pain and motor dysfunction. [EMA PRAC, Nov 2015, WHO GACVS, Dec 2015 statement on HPV vaccine safety, WHO GACVS, Jun 2017 statement on HPV vaccine safety]
Anthrax (AVA)Gulf War Illness / chronic multisymptom illness (CMI) — anthrax-vaccine hypothesisChronic multisymptom illness (CDC-defined in the UK cohort; symptom frequencies not compiled)Not compiled. GWI is identified in cohorts studied years after deployment; the sources compiled do not report a time from vaccination to onset.Small US veteran samples report an association between anthrax vaccination and GWI diagnosis (47.1% vs 17.2%, n=111), and between predicted HLA class II binding of the vaccine's protective antigen and symptom severity (r = −0.356, n=458). UK cross-sectional data link multiple vaccines given during deployment to multisymptom illness, without isolating anthrax vaccine.The IOM 2002 committee found no convincing evidence at that time of elevated later-onset health risk among AVA recipients, while noting data were limited. A US Army cohort of 716,833 soldiers (154,456 vaccinated, 1998–2002) found an adjusted hazard ratio of 0.96 (95% CI 0.92–0.99) for disability evaluation, but did not measure GWI/CMI and did not study the 1990–91 Gulf War population.IOM (2002): "The available data are limited but show no convincing evidence at this time that personnel who have received AVA have elevated risks of later-onset health events." Not an FDA or DoD statement; no current regulator statement on the HLA-based hypothesis was located. [IOM 2002]
Hepatitis BChronic fatigue syndrome / fibromyalgia following hepatitis B vaccination (ASIA framing)Neurological; Musculoskeletal; Fatigue; Psychiatric; Gastrointestinal; MucocutaneousMean 38.6 ± 79.4 days from the last dose to symptom onset (range days to one year) in a 19-patient series; mean 43.2 days from the last dose in a 93-patient series. The anchor is the last dose, unlike the HPV series, which use the first. [Agmon-Levin et al. 2014, Zafrir et al. 2012]A 19-patient US medical-records series reports neurological (84.2%), musculoskeletal (78.9%), psychiatric (63.1%), fatigue (63.1%), GI (58%) and mucocutaneous (36.8%) manifestations; autoantibodies in 71% of those tested; all 19 fulfilled ASIA criteria as applied by the authors. A second series of 93 patients with immune-mediated disease, all of whom had sought legal consultation, reported a similar latency (43.2 days) and 86% fulfilling ASIA criteria.For the hepatitis B – multiple sclerosis question (the most-studied chronic outcome), a nested case-control in two US nurse cohorts found no association (RR 0.9, 95% CI 0.5–1.6), while a UK primary-care database study reported OR 3.1 (95% CI 1.5–6.3) for vaccination within 3 years. The IOM 2011 committee judged the evidence inadequate to accept or reject a causal relationship. No registry study of CFS or fibromyalgia after hepatitis B vaccine was compiled.IOM (2011): evidence inadequate to accept or reject a causal relationship between hepatitis B vaccine and MS (adults and children), Guillain-Barré syndrome, optic neuritis, encephalitis or seizures; evidence convincingly supports anaphylaxis in yeast-sensitive individuals. CFS and fibromyalgia were not among the hepatitis B conclusions extracted for this compile. [IOM 2011]
Aluminium-adjuvanted vaccines (overview)ASIA (autoimmune/inflammatory syndrome induced by adjuvants) and macrophagic myofasciitis (MMF)Myalgia; Chronic fatigue; Cognitive dysfunction (MMF cohorts); Autonomic and subjective symptoms (per ASIA reviews)Not standardised across the sources compiled.Proponent reviews describe post-immunisation ME/CFS, myalgia and cognitive dysfunction linked to aluminium adjuvant persistence (MMF biopsy finding) and propose adding GPCR autoantibodies and small-fibre neuropathy to ASIA criteria. A VAERS analysis identified 2,207 suspected-ASIA reports after HPV vaccine (see HPV entry).A 2025 Danish cohort of 1.22 million children found no association between cumulative early-life aluminium from vaccines and 50 chronic disorders (adjusted HR for any autoimmune disorder 0.98, 95% CI 0.94–1.02); it did not examine fatigue or dysautonomia-type illness. A 2015 systematic review of 27 animal, epidemiological and case studies found no robust animal model at biologically relevant doses, criteria too broad to exclude much autoimmune disease, and a lack of reproducible evidence for a consistent adjuvant–disease relationship.WHO GACVS (2012): risk assessment 'further supports the clinical trial and epidemiological evidence of the safety of aluminium in vaccines'; body burden after aluminium-containing vaccines did not exceed safe US regulatory thresholds. The GACVS page reviewed did not address ASIA or MMF. [WHO GACVS, Jun 2012]

Vaccine-specific detail

COVID-19 (mRNA) — Post-acute COVID-19 vaccination syndrome (PACVS) / post-vaccination syndrome (PVS)

On this site: COVID-19 vaccine summary · Long COVID treatment

Also called: PACVS; PVS; long-vax syndrome (used in some reviews)

Reported in case series / spontaneous reports

Self-selected online cohort (Yale LISTEN, n=241, 80% female) reports high symptom burden, led by exercise intolerance, fatigue, numbness, brain fog and neuropathy. A German cohort (191 affected vs 89 vaccinated controls) reports altered receptor-autoantibody and IL-6 markers.

Large registry / population studies

A sequence-symmetry analysis (284,592 vaccinated persons) found higher odds of a POTS diagnosis in the 90 days after vaccination than the 90 days before, but about five times higher odds after SARS-CoV-2 infection. A meta-analysis pooled a POTS rate of 3.94 per 10,000 vaccinated (CI 0–16.39; 2 studies) versus 107.75 per 10,000 after infection (5 studies). No large SCCS or registry study of a PACVS-defined syndrome was compiled.

Onset latency

Reported symptom frequency — Krumholz et al. 2023, n=241 UNVERIFIED CASE-SERIES REPORTS
Symptom (as reported)DomainFrequency in this selected group
Exercise intolerance *Exercise intolerance / PEM71%
Excessive fatigueFatigue69%
NumbnessOther reported63%
Brain fogCognitive63%
NeuropathyOther reported63%

Source: Abstract (five most common symptoms only). Percentages describe a clinic-referred or self-selected group without a comparison group; they are not injury rates. * = source item approximates the domain. PubMed 37986769 · PMC full text · DOI

Biomarker / autoantibody findings

MarkerReported findingSource
Angiotensin II type 1 receptor (AT1R) autoantibodyAltered in PACVS vs. healthy vaccinated controls; ROC-AUC 0.824 ± 0.027.Semmler et al. 2023
Alpha-2B adrenergic receptor autoantibodyAltered in PACVS vs. controls; ROC-AUC 0.828 ± 0.025.Semmler et al. 2023
Interleukin-6 (IL-6)Increased in PACVS; ROC-AUC 0.850 ± 0.022. Combined markers reported sensitivity 90% for discriminating PACVS from normal post-vaccination state.Semmler et al. 2023

Official positions

No regulator or expert-committee assessment of PACVS as a defined syndrome was located during this compile. A Sept 2026 web search for an EMA PRAC assessment of POTS after mRNA vaccines returned only myocarditis/pericarditis assessments. This describes our search, not a regulator conclusion; verify before citing.

Proposed mechanisms (hypotheses, not established causes)

Alternative explanations documented in the literature

Study list

StudyEvidence typeNKey findingQuality note (GRADE-style, editorial)Primary source
Krumholz et al. 2023 — Yale LISTEN online cohort, 241 people
medRxiv (preprint)
Case series / patient survey
Descriptive analysis of self-reported online cohort (preprint)
241Top symptoms: exercise intolerance 71%, excessive fatigue 69%, numbness 63%, brain fog 63%, neuropathy 63%. Median EQ-VAS 50. Participants reported a median of 20 interventions tried. Median onset 3 days (IQR 1–8).
Descriptive (no causal test)
Grade: Very low Self-selected, self-reported, no comparison group, no verification of vaccination-symptom sequence or exclusion of infection in the abstract; preprint status at time of compilation. Cannot estimate incidence.
Semmler et al. 2023 — PACVS vs. healthy vaccinated controls (autoantibodies, IL-6)
Vaccines (Basel) 11(11)
Mechanistic / biomarker
Case-control biomarker study
280Normal vaccination response included decreases in 11 receptor antibodies and increases in two. PACVS differed on AT1R and alpha-2B adrenergic receptor antibodies and IL-6 (see biomarker table). Authors conclude PACVS is a somatic syndrome detectable by blood markers.
Reports association
Grade: Very low Case-control design; how cases were recruited is not described in the abstract and cases and controls may differ in recruitment; the markers are not validated in independent cohorts; association does not show that vaccination caused the pattern.
Kwan et al. 2022 — POTS diagnoses after vaccination vs infection (sequence-symmetry)
Nat Cardiovasc Res 1
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control
Sequence-symmetry analysis, health-system records
284,592Odds of a POTS diagnosis were higher in the 90 days after vaccination than the 90 days before, higher than for referent primary-care diagnoses, but lower than after SARS-CoV-2 infection (post-infection odds about five times higher). Authors suggest further study.
Mixed / qualified
Grade: Low Diagnosis-based; sequence-symmetry designs can be affected by increased healthcare contact around vaccination and by diagnostic delay. Authors note probable low incidence.
Yong et al. 2023 — meta-analysis of POTS after infection vs vaccination
Auton Neurosci 250
Narrative / systematic review
Systematic review and meta-analysis
Pooled POTS rate 107.75 per 10,000 (95% CI 9.73–273.52) after infection vs. 3.94 per 10,000 (95% CI 0–16.39) after vaccination. POTS RR 2.12 (1.71–2.62) infected vs. uninfected. Time from exposure to onset was shorter in post-vaccination POTS cases. Evidence for post-vaccination POTS described as limited.
Mixed / qualified
Grade: Not graded Vaccination pool rests on only two studies with a very wide interval; heterogeneity high.

Disclaimers specific to this syndrome

Research gaps

HPV — Post-HPV vaccination disorder (Japan) / suspected autonomic dysfunction after HPV vaccination

On this site: HPV vaccine summary · Package-insert ingredients

Also called: HPV vaccine-related symptoms (Japan); HANS (name used in some case-series literature; source not compiled here); post-HPV-vaccination POTS / CRPS / ME-CFS presentations

Reported in case series / spontaneous reports

Clinic-based series from Japan and Denmark describe a similar cluster of fatigue, headache, pain, orthostatic intolerance and cognitive symptoms in adolescent girls and young women. Authors of the Japanese series state that a causal link has not been demonstrated and note that symptom onset overlapped with a defined vaccination period and media activity.

Large registry / population studies

Danish (SCCS, 1.38 million females) and Norwegian (176,453 girls) registry studies found no increased rate of CFS, CRPS or POTS after HPV vaccination. Authors of the Danish SCCS note that an increase of up to 32% cannot be formally excluded.

Onset latency

Reported symptom frequency — Hineno & Ikeda 2021, n=87 UNVERIFIED CASE-SERIES REPORTS
Symptom (as reported)DomainFrequency in this selected group
General fatigueFatigue83.9% (73/87)
Severe headacheOther reported82.8% (72/87)
Widespread painPain81.6% (71/87)
Dysautonomic symptomsAutonomic / POTS81.6% (71/87)
Motor dysfunctionOther reported64.4% (56/87)
Abnormal sensationOther reported59.8% (52/87)
Learning impairment *Cognitive59.8% (52/87)
Sleep disturbanceOther reported50.6% (44/87)
Menstrual abnormalityOther reported50.6% (44/87)
Limb shakingOther reported47.1% (41/87)

Source: Table: 'Frequency of symptoms and signs in the 87 patients studied' (PMC8402449). Percentages describe a clinic-referred or self-selected group without a comparison group; they are not injury rates. * = source item approximates the domain. PubMed 34451981 · PMC full text · DOI

Reported symptom frequency — Brinth et al. 2015, n=35 UNVERIFIED CASE-SERIES REPORTS
Symptom (as reported)DomainFrequency in this selected group
Orthostatic intoleranceAutonomic / POTS100%
NauseaGastrointestinal94%
Chronic headacheOther reported82%
FatigueFatigue82%
Cognitive dysfunctionCognitive77%
Segmental dystoniaOther reported72%
Neuropathic painPain68%

Source: Abstract. Percentages describe a clinic-referred or self-selected group without a comparison group; they are not injury rates. PubMed 25882168 · DOI

Biomarker / autoantibody findings

MarkerReported findingSource
Autoantibodies to neuroendocrine receptors (GPCR family)Authors report significant changes in these autoantibodies in patients with long-term complications after HPV vaccination versus comparison. Abstract text was not retrievable during this compile, so group sizes and effect sizes are not recorded here. verifyMehlsen et al. 2022

Official positions

EMA PRAC (Nov 2015): evidence does not support a causal link between HPV vaccines and CRPS or POTS. WHO GACVS (2015, 2017): no evidence of a causal association with CRPS, POTS or diverse symptoms including pain and motor dysfunction. [EMA PRAC, Nov 2015, WHO GACVS, Dec 2015 statement on HPV vaccine safety, WHO GACVS, Jun 2017 statement on HPV vaccine safety]

Proposed mechanisms (hypotheses, not established causes)

Alternative explanations documented in the literature

Study list

StudyEvidence typeNKey findingQuality note (GRADE-style, editorial)Primary source
Hineno & Ikeda 2021 — Japanese clinic series, 87 patients
Vaccines (Basel) 9
Case series / patient survey
Single-centre retrospective clinical series
87Symptom cluster of orthostatic intolerance, chronic regional pain and cognitive dysfunction; median 199 days from first dose to onset. The authors write that a causal link has not been demonstrated.
Descriptive (no causal test)
Grade: Very low No comparison group; 87 of 200 examined patients selected using criteria proposed by the authors (32 definite, 55 probable); single referral centre; percentages describe the selected group only.
Ozawa et al. 2017 — Japanese clinic series, 72 patients
Drug Saf 40
Case series / patient survey
Single-centre clinical series
72Mean 319.7 ± 349.3 days (range 1–1,532) from first dose to onset. Period of vaccination overlapped with the period of symptom development. The authors state a causal link has not been established and that their diagnostic criteria are not validated.
Descriptive (no causal test)
Grade: Very low Criteria created for the study and not validated (authors' own statement); no comparison group; likely overlaps with the 2021 series (same authors, same Japanese centre and period), though the abstracts do not state this.
Brinth et al. 2015 — Danish syncope-unit series, 35 women
Vaccine 33
Case series / patient survey
Referral-based clinical series
35POTS diagnosed in 21 of 35 (60%; 95% CI 43–77%). The authors call for work to elucidate a potential causal link.
Descriptive (no causal test)
Grade: Very low Referred for orthostatic intolerance, so 100% orthostatic intolerance is by selection. No unvaccinated comparison.
Brinth et al. 2015 — Danish series, 53 patients
Dan Med J 62
Case series / patient survey
Referral-based clinical series
53All 53 had symptoms consistent with pronounced autonomic dysfunction. The authors state their findings neither confirm nor dismiss a causal link.
Descriptive (no causal test)
Grade: Very low Percent frequencies not available in the abstract; patient overlap with the 35-woman series is possible and not stated in the abstract.
Mehlsen et al. 2022 — autoantibody study, Danish patients verify
J Autoimmun 133
Mechanistic / biomarker
Patient vs. comparison autoantibody assay
Authors report changed autoantibodies directed against neuroendocrine receptors. Full abstract could not be retrieved in this compile; verify numbers against the paper before citing effect sizes.
Reports association
Grade: Very low Biomarker association in a selected patient group; cannot show that vaccination caused the change. Compare against long-COVID and ME/CFS cohorts (see research gaps).
Blitshteyn et al. 2018 — review of HPV case series
Immunol Res 66
Narrative / systematic review
Narrative review of case series
Symptom clusters across case series are described as similar. Authors propose vaccine-triggered, immune-mediated autonomic dysfunction in genetically susceptible individuals and state that temporal relationship does not equate to causality.
Mixed / qualified
Grade: Not graded Authors include clinicians who authored some reviewed series; hypothesis paper calling for case-control studies.
Ward et al. 2019 — cluster analysis of Danish serious AE reports
Euro Surveill 24(19):1800380
Spontaneous reports
Latent class cluster analysis of spontaneous reports
963Four clusters; fatigue, dizziness and headache most common. One cluster, largely submitted during a period of heightened media activity including a spike in December 2015, was characterised as likely media stimulated and focused on CFS/POTS-type symptoms.
Descriptive (no causal test)
Grade: Very low Report counts cannot give incidence; reporting is affected by publicity. The authors are from the Danish national health authority.
Pellegrino et al. 2015 — VAERS analysis of suspected ASIA after HPV vaccine
Immunol Res 61
Spontaneous reports
Analysis of VAERS reports
2,2072,207 cases probably or possibly related; most common manifestations pyrexia (58%), myalgia (27%), arthralgia/arthritis (19%). Estimated reporting rate 3.6 per 100,000 doses distributed (95% CI 3.4–3.7).
Descriptive (no causal test)
Grade: Very low Reporting rate, not incidence. Reports are unverified and the ASIA criteria are broad (see Hawkes 2015).
Hviid et al. 2020 — Danish nationwide SCCS
BMJ 370:m2930
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control
Self-controlled case series, nationwide registers
869Composite rate ratio 0.99 (95% CI 0.74–1.32) in the 365 days after vaccination. Individual: CFS 0.38 (0.13–1.09); CRPS 1.31 (0.91–1.90); POTS 0.86 (0.48–1.54). An increase of up to 32% cannot be formally excluded.
No association found
Grade: Low Large and nationwide; outcome is ICD-10-coded diagnoses, which may not capture every symptomatic patient in case series. Confidence limits leave room for a modest increase, particularly for CRPS.
Feiring et al. 2017 — Norwegian register study
Vaccine 35
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control
Register-based cohort (Cox regression)
176,453HR 0.86 (95% CI 0.69–1.08) over follow-up; 0.96 (0.64–1.43) in the first two years after vaccination. Prior hospital contacts strongly predicted CFS/ME (HR 5.23 for ≥7 contacts).
No association found
Grade: Low Registry CFS/ME diagnosis; ascertainment depends on diagnosis coding. Also showed that pre-existing health status shapes both risk and vaccine uptake.
Hviid et al. 2018 — Danish/Swedish adult women cohort
J Intern Med 283
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control
Cohort and SCCS, nationwide registers
3,126,790After multiple-testing correction and SCCS, only coeliac disease (RR 1.56, 95% CI 1.29–1.89) remained; authors interpret it as likely unmasking of under-diagnosed disease.
No association found
Grade: Low Adult women; not the adolescent population of the Japanese series. Outcome list is pre-specified (45 conditions); the abstract does not state that it tests the syndrome cluster in the Japanese and Danish case series.
EMA PRAC, Nov 2015 — HPV vaccines Article 20 review
EMA referral / news release, 5–6 Nov 2015
Regulator / expert-committee review
EU Article 20 referral; PRAC benefit-risk review
PRAC concluded the evidence does not support a causal link between the vaccines and CRPS or POTS. It cited general-population rates of about 150 per million (CRPS) and at least 150 per million (POTS) among girls and women aged 10–19 per year.
No association found
Grade: Not graded Review reflects evidence up to Nov 2015; predates the 2021 Japanese long-term series and the 2022 autoantibody paper.
WHO GACVS, Dec 2015 statement on HPV vaccine safety
WHO GACVS
Regulator / expert-committee review
Expert committee statement
"Reviews of pre- and post-licensure data provide no evidence that these syndromes are associated with HPV vaccination." The committee noted difficulty diagnosing CRPS and POTS in adolescents.
No association found
Grade: Not graded Quoted from WHO GACVS topic page summary; verify against the full statement.
WHO GACVS, Jun 2017 statement on HPV vaccine safety
WHO GACVS
Regulator / expert-committee review
Expert committee statement
"There is still no evidence to suggest a causal association between HPV vaccine and CRPS, POTS or the diverse symptoms that include pain and motor dysfunction."
No association found
Grade: Not graded Quoted from WHO GACVS topic page summary; predates the 2021 and 2022 patient-series and biomarker papers.

Disclaimers specific to this syndrome

Research gaps

Anthrax (AVA) — Gulf War Illness / chronic multisymptom illness (CMI) — anthrax-vaccine hypothesis

Also called: GWI; CMI; Gulf War syndrome

Reported in case series / spontaneous reports

Small US veteran samples report an association between anthrax vaccination and GWI diagnosis (47.1% vs 17.2%, n=111), and between predicted HLA class II binding of the vaccine's protective antigen and symptom severity (r = −0.356, n=458). UK cross-sectional data link multiple vaccines given during deployment to multisymptom illness, without isolating anthrax vaccine.

Large registry / population studies

The IOM 2002 committee found no convincing evidence at that time of elevated later-onset health risk among AVA recipients, while noting data were limited. A US Army cohort of 716,833 soldiers (154,456 vaccinated, 1998–2002) found an adjusted hazard ratio of 0.96 (95% CI 0.92–0.99) for disability evaluation, but did not measure GWI/CMI and did not study the 1990–91 Gulf War population.

Onset latency

Not compiled. GWI is identified in cohorts studied years after deployment; the sources compiled do not report a time from vaccination to onset.

Biomarker / autoantibody findings

MarkerReported findingSource
HLA class II allelesOf 58 HLA class II alleles found in the sample, 18 (31%) were present in vaccinated veterans without GWI and absent from vaccinated veterans with GWI; in-silico binding to anthrax PA peptides was high for those 18.James et al. 2024
Predicted PA–HLA-II binding affinity (in silico)Negatively correlated with GWI symptom severity across 458 veterans (r = −0.356, p < 0.001).James & Georgopoulos 2025

Official positions

IOM (2002): "The available data are limited but show no convincing evidence at this time that personnel who have received AVA have elevated risks of later-onset health events." Not an FDA or DoD statement; no current regulator statement on the HLA-based hypothesis was located. [IOM 2002]

Proposed mechanisms (hypotheses, not established causes)

Alternative explanations documented in the literature

Study list

StudyEvidence typeNKey findingQuality note (GRADE-style, editorial)Primary source
James et al. 2024 — anthrax vaccination, GWI and HLA (111 veterans)
Vaccines (Basel) 12(6)
Case series / patient survey
Cross-sectional veteran sample with HLA typing and in-silico binding analysis
111GWI diagnosed in 47.1% of vaccinated vs 17.2% of non-vaccinated veterans (χ² 7.08, p = 0.008; OR 3.947; RR 2.617); symptom severity 1.6× higher in vaccinated. 18 of 58 HLA class II alleles were present only in the vaccinated-without-GWI group.
Reports association
Grade: Very low Small non-random sample; vaccination status by recall; HLA claim rests on in-silico predicted binding, not measured antibody response; no multiple-testing detail in the abstract.
James & Georgopoulos 2025 — HLA-II binding affinity and GWI severity (458 veterans)
Vaccines (Basel) 13(1)
Mechanistic / biomarker
In-silico HLA binding vs symptom severity correlation
458Stronger overall predicted PA-peptide binding to the veteran's HLA-II alleles correlated with lower GWI symptom severity (r = −0.356, p < 0.001).
Reports association
Grade: Very low Predicted binding, not measured immunity; the abstract does not describe how vaccination status was handled; same research group as the 2024 paper; needs independent replication.
Hotopf et al. 2000 — UK Gulf War veterans, vaccines and ill health
BMJ 320
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control
Cross-sectional study of UK veterans with vaccine records
923Multiple vaccines received during deployment were associated with five of six health outcomes; the strongest was CDC-defined multisymptom illness (OR 5.0, 95% CI 2.5–9.8). Multiple vaccines before deployment were associated with only one outcome (post-traumatic stress reaction). Authors suggest vaccination combined with deployment stress, not vaccines alone.
Mixed / qualified
Grade: Low Concerns multiple vaccines (not anthrax specifically); only 28% had records; cross-sectional and self-reported outcomes.
IOM 2002 — The Anthrax Vaccine: Is It Safe? Does It Work?
National Academies Press; doi:10.17226/10310
Regulator / expert-committee review
Congressionally mandated expert-committee review for DoD
"The available data are limited but show no convincing evidence at this time that personnel who have received AVA have elevated risks of later-onset health events." Also: no evidence that life-threatening or permanently disabling immediate-onset events occur at higher rates than in the general population. Local injection-site and systemic reactions were fairly common and less common, respectively.
No association found
Grade: Not graded Predates the 2024–2025 HLA-based papers; the committee explicitly described the data as limited.
Sulsky et al. 2004 — US Army disability cohort, 716,833 soldiers
J Occup Environ Med 46
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control
Historical cohort (Cox proportional hazards)
716,833Adjusted HR for evaluation for disability discharge 0.96 (95% CI 0.92–0.99); sub-analyses (men, women, permanent, temporary, musculoskeletal, neurologic) ranged 0.90–1.04. Authors conclude anthrax vaccination does not increase risk of disability.
No association found
Grade: Low Outcome is administrative disability evaluation, not GWI or CMI; cohort is post-1998 US Army personnel, not the 1990–91 Gulf War population; authors note selection for vaccination or vaccine tolerance may partly explain the result.

Disclaimers specific to this syndrome

Research gaps

Hepatitis B — Chronic fatigue syndrome / fibromyalgia following hepatitis B vaccination (ASIA framing)

On this site: Hepatitis B vaccine summary

Also called: post-HBV-vaccine CFS/FM; ASIA after hepatitis B vaccine

Reported in case series / spontaneous reports

A 19-patient US medical-records series reports neurological (84.2%), musculoskeletal (78.9%), psychiatric (63.1%), fatigue (63.1%), GI (58%) and mucocutaneous (36.8%) manifestations; autoantibodies in 71% of those tested; all 19 fulfilled ASIA criteria as applied by the authors. A second series of 93 patients with immune-mediated disease, all of whom had sought legal consultation, reported a similar latency (43.2 days) and 86% fulfilling ASIA criteria.

Large registry / population studies

For the hepatitis B – multiple sclerosis question (the most-studied chronic outcome), a nested case-control in two US nurse cohorts found no association (RR 0.9, 95% CI 0.5–1.6), while a UK primary-care database study reported OR 3.1 (95% CI 1.5–6.3) for vaccination within 3 years. The IOM 2011 committee judged the evidence inadequate to accept or reject a causal relationship. No registry study of CFS or fibromyalgia after hepatitis B vaccine was compiled.

Onset latency

Reported symptom frequency — Agmon-Levin et al. 2014, n=19 UNVERIFIED CASE-SERIES REPORTS
Symptom (as reported)DomainFrequency in this selected group
Neurological manifestationsOther reported84.2%
MusculoskeletalOther reported78.9%
PsychiatricOther reported63.1%
FatigueFatigue63.1%
Gastrointestinal complaintsGastrointestinal58%
MucocutaneousOther reported36.8%

Source: Abstract. Percentages describe a clinic-referred or self-selected group without a comparison group; they are not injury rates. PubMed 25427994 · DOI

Reported symptom frequency — Zafrir et al. 2012, n=93 UNVERIFIED CASE-SERIES REPORTS
Symptom (as reported)DomainFrequency in this selected group
Neuro-psychiatricOther reported70%
MusculoskeletalOther reported59%
GastrointestinalGastrointestinal50%
FatigueFatigue42%
MucocutaneousOther reported30%

Source: Abstract. Percentages describe a clinic-referred or self-selected group without a comparison group; they are not injury rates. PubMed 22235045 · DOI

Biomarker / autoantibody findings

MarkerReported findingSource
Autoantibodies (various)Detected in 71% of patients tested (denominator of those tested not given in the abstract); higher titres proposed by the authors as a possible risk factor.Agmon-Levin et al. 2014

Official positions

IOM (2011): evidence inadequate to accept or reject a causal relationship between hepatitis B vaccine and MS (adults and children), Guillain-Barré syndrome, optic neuritis, encephalitis or seizures; evidence convincingly supports anaphylaxis in yeast-sensitive individuals. CFS and fibromyalgia were not among the hepatitis B conclusions extracted for this compile. [IOM 2011]

Proposed mechanisms (hypotheses, not established causes)

Alternative explanations documented in the literature

Study list

StudyEvidence typeNKey findingQuality note (GRADE-style, editorial)Primary source
Agmon-Levin et al. 2014 — CFS / fibromyalgia after hepatitis B vaccine, 19 patients
Immunol Res 60
Case series / patient survey
Medical-records case series applying ASIA criteria
19Manifestations: neurological 84.2%, musculoskeletal 78.9%, psychiatric 63.1%, fatigue 63.1%, GI 58%, mucocutaneous 36.8%. Autoantibodies in 71% of tested patients. All patients fulfilled ASIA criteria. Mean latency from last dose 38.6 ± 79.4 days.
Descriptive (no causal test)
Grade: Very low n=19 selected retrospectively from medical records; ASIA criteria applied by the proposing group; no comparison group; the abstract does not state how patients were identified or the denominator.
Ascherio et al. 2001 — hepatitis B vaccine and MS, US nurse cohorts
N Engl J Med 344
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control
Nested case-control in the Nurses' Health Studies
837Multivariate RR of MS after hepatitis B vaccination at any time 0.9 (95% CI 0.5–1.6); within 2 years before onset 0.7 (0.3–1.8). No dose–response relation.
No association found
Grade: Low Outcome is MS, not CFS/fibromyalgia; wide confidence intervals; women only; vaccination confirmed by certificates.
Hernán et al. 2004 — hepatitis B vaccine and MS, UK GPRD
Neurology 63
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control
Nested case-control, UK General Practice Research Database
1,767OR of MS for hepatitis B vaccination within 3 years before index date was 3.1 (95% CI 1.5–6.3); no increase for tetanus or influenza vaccines. Authors state results are consistent with an association and challenge the idea that the relation is well understood.
Reports association
Grade: Low Outcome is MS, not CFS/fibromyalgia; relatively few cases; the authors themselves called for confirmation.
IOM 2011 — Adverse Effects of Vaccines: Evidence and Causality (hepatitis B chapter)
National Academies Press (report released 2011; NAP edition 2012); doi:10.17226/13164
Regulator / expert-committee review
Expert-committee causality review
"The evidence is inadequate to accept or reject a causal relationship between hepatitis B vaccine and onset of MS in adults" (same wording for MS in children, GBS, optic neuritis, encephalitis, seizures). "The evidence convincingly supports a causal relationship between hepatitis B vaccine and anaphylaxis in yeast-sensitive individuals."
Mixed / qualified
Grade: Not graded Predates the 2014 Agmon-Levin series; CFS and fibromyalgia were not found in the hepatitis B conclusions extracted for this compile.
Zafrir et al. 2012 — immune-mediated disease after hepatitis B vaccine, 93 patients
Lupus 21
Case series / patient survey
Retrospective medical-records series applying ASIA criteria
93Mean latency 43.2 days from last dose. Manifestations: neuro-psychiatric 70%, musculoskeletal 59%, GI 50%, fatigue 42%, mucocutaneous 30%. Elevated autoantibody titres in 80% of sera tested. 80/93 (86%) fulfilled ASIA criteria (57/59 adults, 23/34 children).
Descriptive (no causal test)
Grade: Very low All patients sought legal consultation (selection bias); mixed immune-mediated diagnoses, not specifically CFS or fibromyalgia; ASIA criteria applied by the group that proposed them; no comparison group.

Disclaimers specific to this syndrome

Research gaps

Aluminium-adjuvanted vaccines (overview) — ASIA (autoimmune/inflammatory syndrome induced by adjuvants) and macrophagic myofasciitis (MMF)

Also called: Shoenfeld's syndrome; ASIA; MMF-associated chronic fatigue

Reported in case series / spontaneous reports

Proponent reviews describe post-immunisation ME/CFS, myalgia and cognitive dysfunction linked to aluminium adjuvant persistence (MMF biopsy finding) and propose adding GPCR autoantibodies and small-fibre neuropathy to ASIA criteria. A VAERS analysis identified 2,207 suspected-ASIA reports after HPV vaccine (see HPV entry).

Large registry / population studies

A 2025 Danish cohort of 1.22 million children found no association between cumulative early-life aluminium from vaccines and 50 chronic disorders (adjusted HR for any autoimmune disorder 0.98, 95% CI 0.94–1.02); it did not examine fatigue or dysautonomia-type illness. A 2015 systematic review of 27 animal, epidemiological and case studies found no robust animal model at biologically relevant doses, criteria too broad to exclude much autoimmune disease, and a lack of reproducible evidence for a consistent adjuvant–disease relationship.

Onset latency

Not standardised across the sources compiled.

Biomarker / autoantibody findings

MarkerReported findingSource
Macrophagic myofasciitis (deltoid biopsy)Proposed by Gherardi et al. as a histological biomarker of long-lasting aluminium persistence in patients with myalgia; frequency in unvaccinated or vaccinated-well people is not given in the abstract. In a 50-patient series, all had received aluminium-containing vaccines a median 36 months before biopsy.Gherardi et al. 2001, Gherardi et al. 2019

Official positions

WHO GACVS (2012): risk assessment 'further supports the clinical trial and epidemiological evidence of the safety of aluminium in vaccines'; body burden after aluminium-containing vaccines did not exceed safe US regulatory thresholds. The GACVS page reviewed did not address ASIA or MMF. [WHO GACVS, Jun 2012]

Proposed mechanisms (hypotheses, not established causes)

Alternative explanations documented in the literature

Study list

StudyEvidence typeNKey findingQuality note (GRADE-style, editorial)Primary source
Gherardi et al. 2019 — MMF, ME/CFS and aluminium adjuvant persistence (review)
Autoimmun Rev 18
Narrative / systematic review
Narrative review by proponents of the aluminium hypothesis
Authors argue ME/CFS is a major adverse effect of vaccines containing poorly degradable particulate aluminium adjuvants and describe MMF, brain perfusion/metabolism changes and animal neurotoxicity. Authors state post-immunisation ME/CFS is the core manifestation of ASIA.
Reports association
Grade: Not graded Advocacy-leaning narrative review; contains several primary observations that need independent confirmation; the abstract cites an epidemiological comparison of vaccinated and unvaccinated militaries without giving figures.
Cohen Tervaert et al. 2023 — ASIA in 2023 (review)
Autoimmun Rev 22
Narrative / systematic review
Narrative review by ASIA proponents
Summarises accumulated evidence; proposes adding dysregulated non-classical GPCR autoantibodies and small-fibre neuropathy to ASIA criteria as possible explanations for dysautonomia.
Reports association
Grade: Not graded Written by authors associated with the ASIA concept; not a systematic search.
Hawkes et al. 2015 — critical appraisal of ASIA (systematic review)
J Autoimmun 59
Narrative / systematic review
Systematic review of 27 animal, epidemiological and case studies
27Found no robust animal model at biologically relevant adjuvant doses; ASIA criteria lack stringency, so very few autoimmune cases could be excluded; human studies too diverse to show a consistent adjuvant–disease relationship. Suggests mandatory temporal-association and dose criteria.
No association found
Grade: Not graded Pre-dates 2019–2024 MMF and dysautonomia literature; number of studies reviewed is small (27).
WHO GACVS, Jun 2012 — aluminium adjuvants
WHO GACVS
Regulator / expert-committee review
Expert committee statement
"The comprehensive risk assessment further supports the clinical trial and epidemiological evidence of the safety of aluminium in vaccines." Body burden after aluminium-containing vaccines never exceeds safe US regulatory thresholds. The page reviewed did not address ASIA or MMF.
No association found
Grade: Not graded 2012 statement; predates Gherardi 2019 and Cohen Tervaert 2023; addresses toxicological safety thresholds, not ASIA or MMF specifically.
Gherardi et al. 2001 — macrophagic myofasciitis and aluminium hydroxide persistence
Brain 124
Case series / patient survey
Biopsy series with electron microscopy, chemical analysis and a rat experiment
50Inclusions in macrophages corresponded to aluminium hydroxide. 50/50 patients had received hepatitis B (86%), hepatitis A (19%) or tetanus (58%) vaccines a median 36 months (range 3–96) before biopsy. Myalgia followed vaccination (median 11 months) in 94%. The lesion was reproduced in rats. Authors conclude the MMF lesion follows intramuscular aluminium-hydroxide vaccines and marks long-term local persistence.
Reports association
Grade: Very low Patients were selected because they had myalgia and biopsy; the abstract describes no biopsy series of vaccinated-well people, so it shows persistence at the injection site, not that persistence causes systemic illness.
Andersson et al. 2025 — Danish nationwide cohort, aluminium-adsorbed vaccines
Ann Intern Med 178
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control
Nationwide register cohort using time-varying aluminium content of vaccines
1,224,176No association with any of 50 chronic disorders. Adjusted HR per 1 mg of aluminium: any autoimmune disorder 0.98 (95% CI 0.94–1.02); any atopic/allergic 0.99 (0.98–1.01); any neurodevelopmental 0.93 (0.90–0.97). Small effects for rarer disorders could not be excluded.
No association found
Grade: Low Outcomes are childhood autoimmune, atopic and neurodevelopmental diagnoses; it does not test the fatigue / dysautonomia / MMF phenotype. Individual records not reviewed. Authors are at a national public-health institute; post-publication commentary questioning exposure misclassification and conflicts of interest exists but is not compiled here.

Disclaimers specific to this syndrome

Research gaps

Cross-vaccine comparison

All charts are generated from the same cited data files as the tables. Each marker or cell links to its study record.

Symptom overlap

Reported symptom frequency by domain. UNVERIFIED CASE-SERIES REPORTS Each cell is the highest single reported item in that domain for one selected patient group; blank cells were not reported by the source (not zero). Groups differ in selection, definitions and denominators, so compare patterns, not exact values. * = source item only approximates the domain.
StudyFatigueExercise intolerance / PEMAutonomic / POTSPainCognitiveGastrointestinal
COVID-19 (mRNA)
Krumholz et al. 2023 n=241
69%71%*not reportednot reported63%not reported
HPV
Hineno & Ikeda 2021 n=87
83.9%not reported81.6%81.6%59.8%*not reported
HPV
Brinth et al. 2015 n=35
82%not reported100%68%77%94%
Hepatitis B
Agmon-Levin et al. 2014 n=19
63.1%not reportednot reportednot reportednot reported58%
Hepatitis B
Zafrir et al. 2012 n=93
42%not reportednot reportednot reportednot reported50%

Scale: 0% → 100% of the group. Source tables and links are in each vaccine section below.

Onset latency

Reported time from vaccination to symptom onset, by studyInterval plot on a logarithmic day scale. Diamonds mark medians, circles mark means. Bars show reported ranges or interquartile ranges. The reference event differs between studies. Values are listed in the table below.013103010030010003000days from reference event (log scale, days + 1)Krumholz et al. 2023 (n=241)COVID-19 (mRNA) · from index vaccinationKrumholz et al. 2023: median 3 daysmedian 3, IQR 1–8Hineno & Ikeda 2021 (n=87)HPV · from first doseHineno & Ikeda 2021: median 199 daysmedian 199, range 0–1532Ozawa et al. 2017 (n=72)HPV · from first doseOzawa et al. 2017: mean 319.7 daysmean 319.7 (SD 349.3), range 1–1532Agmon-Levin et al. 2014 (n=19)Hepatitis B · from last doseAgmon-Levin et al. 2014: mean 38.6 daysmean 38.6 (SD 79.4), no range reportedZafrir et al. 2012 (n=93)Hepatitis B · from last doseZafrir et al. 2012: mean 43.2 daysmean 43.2, no range reportedfrom first dosefrom last dosefrom index vaccinationmedianmean

Only summary statistics are published for these groups, so this shows reported medians, means and ranges, not the underlying distributions. Studies use different reference events (first dose, last dose, index vaccination) and different populations; do not read the horizontal ordering as a comparison of vaccines.

Data table for this chart
StudyVaccineStatistic (days)RangeReference event
Krumholz et al. 2023COVID-19 (mRNA)median 3IQR 1–8index vaccination
Hineno & Ikeda 2021HPVmedian 1990–1532first dose
Ozawa et al. 2017HPVmean 319.7 ± 349.31–1532first dose
Agmon-Levin et al. 2014Hepatitis Bmean 38.6 ± 79.4not reportedlast dose
Zafrir et al. 2012Hepatitis Bmean 43.2not reportedlast dose

Timeline of studies and regulator reviews

Filter by evidence type using the controls under “Study explorer”; the timeline and explorer share them.

Timeline of compiled studies and regulator reviews, by vaccineEach marker is one record, placed by publication year in the row for its vaccine. Colour shows evidence type. The study explorer below lists the same records as text.2000200320062009201220152018202120242027COVID-19 (mRNA)Kwan et al. 2022 — Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control (2022)Krumholz et al. 2023 — Case series / patient survey (2023)Semmler et al. 2023 — Mechanistic / biomarker (2023)Yong et al. 2023 — Narrative / systematic review (2023)HPVBrinth et al. 2015 — Case series / patient survey (2015)Brinth et al. 2015 — Case series / patient survey (2015)Pellegrino et al. 2015 — Spontaneous reports (2015)EMA PRAC, Nov 2015 — Regulator / expert-committee review (2015)WHO GACVS, Dec 2015 statement on HPV vaccine safety — Regulator / expert-committee review (2015)Ozawa et al. 2017 — Case series / patient survey (2017)Feiring et al. 2017 — Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control (2017)WHO GACVS, Jun 2017 statement on HPV vaccine safety — Regulator / expert-committee review (2017)Blitshteyn et al. 2018 — Narrative / systematic review (2018)Hviid et al. 2018 — Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control (2018)Ward et al. 2019 — Spontaneous reports (2019)Hviid et al. 2020 — Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control (2020)Hineno & Ikeda 2021 — Case series / patient survey (2021)Mehlsen et al. 2022 — Mechanistic / biomarker (2022)Anthrax (AVA)Hotopf et al. 2000 — Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control (2000)IOM 2002 — Regulator / expert-committee review (2002)Sulsky et al. 2004 — Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control (2004)James et al. 2024 — Case series / patient survey (2024)James & Georgopoulos 2025 — Mechanistic / biomarker (2025)Hepatitis BAscherio et al. 2001 — Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control (2001)Hernán et al. 2004 — Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control (2004)IOM 2011 — Regulator / expert-committee review (2011)Zafrir et al. 2012 — Case series / patient survey (2012)Agmon-Levin et al. 2014 — Case series / patient survey (2014)Aluminium-adjuvanted vaccines (overview)Gherardi et al. 2001 — Case series / patient survey (2001)WHO GACVS, Jun 2012 — Regulator / expert-committee review (2012)Hawkes et al. 2015 — Narrative / systematic review (2015)Gherardi et al. 2019 — Narrative / systematic review (2019)Cohen Tervaert et al. 2023 — Narrative / systematic review (2023)Andersson et al. 2025 — Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-control (2025)Case series / reportsRegistry / SCCS / cohortMechanisticReviewRegulator / committee

Study explorer

Evidence type

VaccineAuthor / yearDesignNKey findingQuality note (GRADE-style)Primary source

Methodology and evidence grading

Each entry is scored on study design, sample size, comparison group and whether the authors themselves claim causation. Grades are GRADE-style editorial ratings for orientation only, not formal GRADE assessments.

  1. Studies are found via PubMed and regulator/committee websites and are added only if their key figures can be traced to an abstract, table or official page.
  2. Every statistic in the data files sits inside a study record with a PMID, DOI or official URL. The build fails if a record is missing a citation.
  3. Reported symptom frequencies (case series) are kept separate from population rate ratios (registry / SCCS). They answer different questions and are never pooled.
  4. Unreported values are left blank, never filled with zero.
  5. Regulator positions are quoted from the regulator's own page and dated. If none was located, the record says so.

Evidence types

TypeWhat it can and cannot show
Case series / patient surveyClinic-referred or self-selected patients; no unexposed comparison.
Spontaneous reportsPassive surveillance (e.g., VAERS, national AE registers); unverified, subject to stimulated reporting.
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-controlCompares vaccinated with unvaccinated persons or risk vs. control windows.
Mechanistic / biomarkerBiomarker, in-silico or animal work; hypothesis-generating.
Narrative / systematic reviewSecondary synthesis; check whether authors advocate a position.
Regulator / expert-committee reviewEMA, WHO GACVS, IOM/NASEM and similar.

Default GRADE-style rating by design

DesignStarting ratingWhy
Case series, patient survey, spontaneous reportsVery lowNo comparison group; selection and recall bias; cannot estimate risk.
Registry / SCCS / cohort / case-controlLowComparison group present, but outcome coding, healthy-vaccinee effects, diagnostic delay and confounding remain.
Mechanistic / biomarker / in-silicoVery lowHypothesis-generating; does not test whether the vaccine causes illness.
Narrative reviewNot gradedDepends on the sources reviewed and the authors' stated position.
Regulator / expert-committee reviewNot gradedNot a study; reflects the committee's reading of evidence available at the time.

Ratings are editorial and provisional. They are not a formal GRADE assessment and do not judge whether any individual’s illness was caused by a vaccine.

Research gaps across vaccines

Part of the Open Source Medicine Foundation Network

Open Source Medicine Foundation

Home of the OSMF network — open-source pharmacovigilance tools and evidence-based medicine resources.

Research Tracker

Track peer-reviewed literature on vaccine safety, pharmacovigilance, and post-market surveillance.

Evidence Desk

Soft launch — provisional claim grades; not medical advice. Does not contain vaccine lot or VAERS data.

SpikeProtein.site

Comprehensive resource on spike protein biology, biodistribution, and clinical implications.

VitalScan4PACVS

Decentralized trial for PACVS (post-acute COVID-19 vaccination syndrome).

PACVS Research Summit

Annual summit convening researchers and clinicians studying post-acute COVID-19 vaccination syndrome.